NYC interactive truck route map
CSA ROADSIDE INSPECTION VIDEO SERIES
CSA roadside inspections are no place for the unprepared, these videos will prep you like an insider with essential CSA tips. including how to master the CSA scoring system, pre-inspecting your vehicles and equipment, prepping your brakes, tires, steering, wheels, understanding cargo securement rules and more. Click Here for more info.
COLD ENGINE STARTING STEPS
In a diesel powered vehicle, fuel and air must get hot enough to create combustion, which then creates the spark to start the engine. Please follow these steps to start a diesel truck.
Turn the key to the start position without turning the engine on – You will see the “wait to start” light on the instrument cluster. Do not attempt to start the engine until the light disappears.
Air intake heating takes approximately 15 seconds, The “wait to start” light will not go out until the intake is fully heated. Extreme cold weather may take even longer to heat.
Once the “wait to start” light goes out, proceed to start the engine. Do not allow it to crank for more than 30 seconds. If the truck fails to start within 30 seconds, turn the key back to the off position and repeat the procedure.
These steps will greatly reduce the chances of a dead battery/no start condition.
WINTER TRUCKING TIPS VIDEO
Click here to watch
Effective January 1, 2017, NYS Governor Cuomo signed into law that all vehicles (including trucks), must now be checked for dark window tinting when undergoing the vehicles annual NYS inspection. For more information about the NYS window tinting regulation.....
Penalties Boosted for Toll Evaders
Both the New York State Thruway Authority and the Metropolitan Transportation Authority are increasing the penalties for non-payment of tolls, and the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey and the New York State Bridge Authority are reviewing their policies.
The penalty for non-payment of tolls on such major facilities as the Tappan Zee Bridge will jump to $100 but remain at $50 for the Thruway in general.
At the MTA, the higher penalty will apply to the Bronx-Whitestone, Triborough, Throgs Neck and Verrazano-Narrows bridges and at the Brooklyn-Battery and Queens-Midtown tunnels.
The lower penalty will apply to the Henry Hudson, Cross Bay Veterans Memorial and Marine Parkway-Gil Hodges Memorial bridges.
NEW YORK TRUCK IDLING EXCEPTIONS
All on-road vehicles with a GVWR exceeding 8,500 pounds and designed primarily for transporting persons or properties are prohibited from allowing the engine to idle, when the vehicle is not in motion, for more than five consecutive minutes.
This does not apply when:
- A diesel fueled truck is to remain motionless for a period exceeding two hours, and during which period the ambient temperature is continuously below 25°F.
- A vehicle forced to remain motionless because of the traffic conditions over which the operator has no control.
- An engine is being used to provide power for an auxiliary purpose, such as loading, discharging, mixing or processing cargo; controlling cargo temperature; construction; lumbering; oil or gas well servicing; farming; or when operation of the engine is required for the purpose of maintenance.
NEW JERSEY TAX ENFORCEMENT
Taxation investigative teams focus on transient out-of-State vendors with business activities in New Jersey that create '"nexus'" and trigger a tax obligation. Investigators work cooperatively with local and State law enforcement officials as well as U.S. Customs. The teams monitor construction sites, warehouses, and weigh stations to uncover unregistered or noncompliant vendors.
Individuals who are part of an out-of-State corporation, partnership, limited liability company, or sole proprietorship conducting business in the Garden State could have nexus with New Jersey.
A business has nexus with New Jersey if it maintains a temporary or permanent presence (employees, service personnel, or independent sales/service agents) or property (inventory, offices, or warehouses) or has employees travel to the State to call on customers, conduct retail or wholesale sales, attend trade shows, or consign inventory to warehouses. If so, that company should register with the Division of Taxation.
Business owners can obtain information about registering a business on the Division's website or by contacting the Division's Nexus Audit Group at 609-984-5749. They can also register their business online.
To request information about voluntary compliance for an unregistered business, send an email to TaxRevOps@treas.nj.gov
UNITED CARRIER REGISTRATION
Please be aware that if you receive notification from a DOT compliance company informing you to file your annual UCR agreement, you can file yourself avoiding additional expenses at the following link:
UCR FEE SCHEDULE
- $76 for 0 to 2 Vehicles
- $227 for 3 to 5 Vehicles
- $452 for 6 to 20 Vehicles
- $1,576 for 21 to 100 Vehicles
- $7,511 for 101 to 1000 Vehicles
- $73,346 for 1001 or more Vehicles
IF YOU RECEIVE A LETTER FROM THE FMCSA...
DON'T THROW IT AWAY!!!
Correspondence sent to your place of business that specifically identifies an alerted Behavior Analysis and Safety Improvement Category (BASIC) and outlines possible consequences of continued safety problems. The warning letter provides instructions for accessing carrier safety data and measurement as well as a point-of-contact. This is an early warning sign that if ignored, could lead to a DOT audit!
NON-CDL MEDICAL CARD REGULATION
In most cases, operating a Non-CDL vehicle for commercial use, requires a driver to carry a DOT medical card. Find out if your driver is required by using the link below from the NYSDOT!!!!
CLICK HERE TO SEE IF YOU NEED A MED CARD!
BUT....WHAT ABOUT THE HUT?
The NYS Highway Use Tax is required for any truck, tractor or other self-propelled vehicle with a gross weight in excess of 18,000lbs. This tax is imposed on motor carriers that operate on NYS public highways (excluding toll-paid portions of the NYS Thruway). The tax is based on mileage traveled and is computed at a rate determined by the weight of the motor vehicle and the method that you choose to report the tax.
The NYS HUT tax return must be filed on a quarterly basis, starting with the calendar year when you began operations in NYS. If your preceding calendar years total highway use tax is more than $4,000.00, you will be reclassified to a monthly filer. If your prior calendar year’s total tax is $250.00 or less, you may request permission to file once a year. The most convenient way to file is online, and the link is as follows:
DON'T WAIT UNTIL IT'S TOO LATE!
KNOW YOUR NUMBERS!
To register for a free FMCSA Portal account.
The portal account will provide you with access to your company's safety rating with the D.O.T.
HAVE YOU UPDATED YOUR MCS-150 RECENTLY?
FAILURE TO COMPLETE A TIMELY UPDATE CAN RESULT IN THE DEACTIVATION OF YOUR USDOT NUMBER AND A CIVIL PENALTY OF UP TO $1000 PER DAY BUT NOT TO EXCEED $10,000. A VERY COSTLY "OUT OF SERVICE" VIOLATION.
CLICK ON THE LINK BELOW TO UPDATE ONLINE.
*IMPORTANT NOTICE TO ALL HUB CUSTOMERS*
USERNAME AND PASSWORD FOR WEBSITE ENTRANCE IS